Blog Tour & Review: Catch Your Death by Kierney Scott @bookouture #CatchYourDeath #KierneyScott #Bookouture #BlogTour

Hey bookworms! I’m so excited to take part in the blog tour of Catch Your Death by Kierney Scott, which is hosted by the lovely folks over at Bookouture. Be sure to check out the other amazing bloggers that are a part of this tour!

Catch Your Death

Author: Kierney Scott

Publication Date: 15 April 2019

Genre: Adult – Thriller (Crime)

Pages: 278

Publisher: Bookouture

The scene played over and over in his mind. He only had one choice left. He had to die.

Behind the high and imposing gates of a prestigious college, five students have taken their lives. All of them friends, all of them good kids, all of them dead within months of each other. When FBI Agent Jess Bishop is called in to investigate, what she discovers will make her just as vulnerable as the students she’s trying to protect.

As Jess begins to unravel the secrets behind the deaths, she uncovers something much more sinister at the school and she is determined to find out who is at the centre of it.

Though her team think they’re closing in on the ringleader, Jess becomes convinced they’re going after the wrong person, forcing her to investigate on her own. Desperate to stop any more deaths, she risks everything by putting herself in the firing line. But just how far would she go to save the lives of those around her?

An absolutely gripping thriller that will have your pulse racing. Catch Your Death is perfect for fans of Robert Dugoni, Karin Slaughter and Lisa Gardner.

I’m going to start out by saying that I did not read the two books that precede Catch Your Death, and I don’t feel like that impeded by ability to enjoy this incredible story. The previous two books allow you to understand Special Agent Jess Bishop’s backstory, but the author does a phenomenal job of giving pertinent information throughout the story.

Right off the bat, I knew that Special Agent Jess Bishop was not your typical FBI agent. The story opens with Jess engaging in sexual intercourse with a complete stranger in a dark alley behind a bar. The pills that Jess is constantly popping barely numbs the chronic pain she has from a previous injury, so sex became her drug of choice for temporary pain relief. The only problem is that she has major trust issues, so her partners are always strangers and they don’t go back to her place or even her car.

Shortly after she’s finished, Jess receives a phone call from her superior (Jeanie Gilbert) asking if she could go to Gracemount Academy to check on her nephew Levi Smith after Jeanie received a troubling voicemail from him earlier in the night. Even though Jess is still on administrative leave, she agrees since her boss is out of town and unable to do so. Unfortunately, Jess discovers Levi’s dead body (from an apparent suicide) in the showers. When Jess starts questioning the rambling house mother, it’s revealed that FOUR other boys committed suicide within the last year, and the academy made no attempt to inform the students or parents.

Jess comes off of administrative leave and forms a team to formally investigate these suicides. The team was initially led to believe that the suicides were the result of a dangerous social media game called ‘The Last Supper’ (this gave me HUGE slender man vibes, which still creeps me out). However, Jess does not believe this to be the case since the evidence does not support this theory. Additionally, as Jess and her team get closer to solving this case, evidence goes missing and people turn up dead. It seems that someone on the inside is sabotaging the investigation but who?!

I loved every minute of this story. I loved all the twists and turns of the investigation. Jess is a complete and total hot mess, but when you see the background from which she came from as well as the source surrounding her hand injury, it’s not so surprising that she’s turned out the way that she has. She may not have the healthiest personal life, but she’s a damn good investigator and it’s clear that you can count on her to solve the case.

Overall, if you’re looking for a fast-paced crime thriller that will keep you on your toes, this is it. I definitely will be reading more from this author in the future.

Thank you Bookouture and NetGalley for an eARC of this book. This did not influence my review. All opinions are my own.

Originally from California, Kierney Scott lives in Edinburgh, Scotland with her husband and their daughter.

In her spare time she likes to read and invent new recipes. Her stuffed peppers are particularly popular with her family, as are her grain-free chocolate chip cookies. In an effort to convert her family to the joys of pumpkin, she created the Great Pumpkin Challenge. For the ten weeks before Thanksgiving, they tried a new pumpkin recipe every week. Pumpkin arancini and pumpkin queso were a big hit. She has promised her daughter to never again roast pumpkin and call them chips. 

Follow Kierney Scott on Facebook

Purchase links:

2 comments

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s