Book Review & Blog Tour: Keep Her Close by Erik Therme

Hey everyone! Today I am super excited to be one of the tour stops for Keep Her Close by Erik Therme, which is hosted by Books On the Bright Side Publicity. Be sure to check out the other bloggers involved in this great tour!

Keep Her Close

Erik Therme

Publication Date: 05 December 2018

Genre: Adult Fiction – Psychological Thriller

Pages: 247

Publisher: Bookouture

Someone took your daughter. And nobody believes you …

Then:
Three-year-old Ally was found alone in a parking lot. 
She was barefoot and dressed only in a yellow sundress. In the middle of winter. 
What kind of person would abandon their daughter? 

Now:
Fifteen years later and Ally has a new family. 
But her real father has sent her a letter. 
And now Ally is missing.

A gripping twist-filled thriller that will have you looking over your shoulder. Perfect for fans of Gone Girl, The Girl on the Train and Teresa Driscoll.

Right off the bat, the author throws us into a gut-wrenching prologue where Dan and Holly discover an abandoned three-year old girl with a sign that says ‘free to a good home’. To add to their horror, the body of the little girl’s mother lay mangled at the bottom of a parking garage from an apparent suicide.

The story fast forwards 15 years, and eighteen year old Ally has comfortably adjusted to her new life with her parents Dan and Holly even though they divorced and Holly remarried. Ally is now living with her friend Ellie while attending college. Things change for Ally when she receives a startling letter from someone who claims to be her biological father and is dying from cancer. She immediately reaches out to Dan seeking his advice as well as wanting to find out the truth of her biological parents. Dan dismisses the letter as a hoax thinking that his daughter is getting worked up for no reason. Unfortunately, without telling Dan and Holly, Ally disappears to meet her biological father a few days later and no one seems to know her whereabouts.

This fast-paced thriller is a quick read that I was able to tear through in a day. I was immediately sucked into the plot just from the prologue. The author did a fantastic job of painting such a horrifying scene that immediately made you gravitate towards Dan, Holly, and Ally as characters.

At several points in this story, I couldn’t help but be reminded of Taken where Liam Neeson is on the mission from hell and will stop at nothing to find his daughter. That is exactly how Dan is. I loved Dan as a character because he doesn’t hide his flaws. He’s got anger issues. He’s made questionable decisions in the past, but his motives always revolve around his loved ones. He will do whatever it takes to find his daughter.

As we learned more information about the letter as well as digging deeper into Ally’s life, we were lead down a series of twists and turns. Some of these were a bit predictable, but the ending was a complete surprise. Overall, if you’re looking for a fast paced thriller filled with secrets and betrayal then this book is for you.

A HUGE thank you to Sarah Hardy for the blog tour invitation as well as providing an ebook for review. This did not influence my review. All opinions are my own.

Erik Therme has thrashed in garage bands, inadvertently harbored runaways, and met Darth Vader. When he’s not at his computer, he can be found cheering on his youngest daughter’s volleyball team, or watching horror movies with his oldest. He currently resides in Iowa City, Iowa—one of only twenty-eight places in the world that UNESCO has certified as a City of Literature. Join Erik’s mailing list to be notified of new releases and author giveaways: http://eepurl.com/cD1F8L

Social Media Links:

Facebook | Twitter | Goodreads

Purchase Links:

Amazon—US | Amazon—UK | Apple Books | Kobo US | Kobo UK | Googleplay

3 comments

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s