Book Review: On the Corner of Love and Hate by Nina Bocci (eARC)

On the Corner of Love and Hate

Author: Nina Bocci

Publication Date: 20 August 2019

Genre: Adult Fiction – Contemporary Romance

Pages: 336

Publisher: Gallery Books

For fans of Christina Lauren and Lauren Layne comes a delightfully sassy and sexy romance about a campaign manager who reluctantly works with the local Lothario to help revamp his image for the upcoming mayoral elections, only to discover that he’s hiding something that can turn both their lives upside down.

What’s a campaign manager’s worst nightmare? A smooth-talking charmer who’s never met a scandal that he didn’t like.

When Emmanuelle Peroni’s father—and mayor of her town—asks her to help rehab Cooper Endicott’s image, she’s horrified. Cooper drives her crazy in every way possible. But he’s also her father’s protégé, and she can’t say no to him without him finding out the reason why: Cooper and her have a messy past. So Emmanuelle reluctantly launches her father’s grand plan to get this Casanova someone to settle down with and help him lose his lothario reputation.

Cooper Endicott wanted to run for Mayor, but he never wanted the drama that went with it. Now that he’s on the political hamster wheel, the other candidates are digging up everything from his past. Even though he’s doing all the right things, his colorful love life is the sticking point for many of the conservative voters. He wants to win, badly, and he knows that if he wants any chance of getting a vote from the female population, he needs to change his image. The only problem? He might just be falling in love with the one person he promised not to pursue: the Mayor’s off-limits daughter.

A perfect blend of humor and heart, On the Corner of Love and Hate is the first in a new series from USA TODAY bestselling author Nina Bocci.

There is something about enemy to lovers tropes that makes me weak in the knees, and On the Corner of Love and Hate definitely did not disappoint.

Emmanuelle ‘Emma’ Peroni is the daughter of the Mayor of Hope Town. She herself works in the local government since making sure that Hope Town thrives is something that is near and dear to her. She works in the same office as Cooper Endicott, who was once her childhood best friend but now turned enemy after the his betrayal.

Emma and Cooper have a professional working relationship since she can usually ignore him for the most part. However, Emma is thrown a curve ball when her father asks her to be the campaign manager for Cooper’s run for Mayor in order to change his bad boy image. To make matters worse, Cooper’s mother, the Governor, is incredibly excited for Emma to work alongside Cooper. The only one not excited? Emma, of course.

It is evident from the very beginning that the chemistry between Emma and Cooper is palpable. Their snarky banter is constant. One thing that does become evident during their banter sessions is that Cooper always has a look of defeat whenever Emma accuses Cooper of being a wild playboy who is incapable of controlling himself around women. It constantly makes you wonder if Emma truly knows Cooper’s dating life or if she’s convinced herself that he is a playboy to keep herself guarded from him. As the two spend more time together during the course of the campaign, all of their preconceived notions about each other slowly starts to peel away, which I couldn’t get enough of.

I loved all of the side characters in this story. One of the important aspects in this story is the BFF quartet, which consisted of Nick, Henry, Cooper, and Emma. I would definitely say that Henry is my favorite. He’s the listener and the least macho. He’s also a self proclaimed sex camel, which still cracks me up. Nick definitely had that immature humor that constantly makes you eye roll, but every group needs that one friend.

Overall, if you’re looking for a contemporary romance that will pull at your heartstrings one minute and have you laughing the next then you definitely need to check out On the Corner of Love and Hate. I can’t wait to see what’s next for Nina Bocci.

Thank you to Gallery Book and NetGalley for the eARC. This did not influence my review. All opinions are my own.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s