Book Review & Blog Tour: A Spell of Murder by Kennedy Kerr (eARC)

Hi bookworms! Today is my tour stop for A Spell of Murder by Kennedy Kerr, which is hosted by the lovely folks at Bookouture! Thank you so much for my tour invitation.

A Spell of Murder

Author: Kennedy Kerr

Publication Date: 03 October 2019

Genre: Adult Fiction – Cozy Mystery, Paranormal

Pages: 267

Publication: Bookouture

In the sleepy town of Lost Maidens Loch, people sometimes disappear…

Down a quiet lane in town sits a little shop full of oddities you’d probably miss if you weren’t looking for it. This is Love’s Curiosities Inc., and its owner, Temerity Love, is sought by experts all over the world for her rare and magical gift: the ability to find lost things and learn their stories.

When Lost Maidens’ pretty local school teacher is found murdered by a poisoned cup of tea, a strange antique hand mirror is discovered nearby. Temerity – with the help of witchy sister Tilda, their cats Scylla and Charybdis and the lovingly eccentric local townspeople – is determined to divine the story behind the mirror and its part in Miss Molly Bayliss’ untimely death.

If only grumpy out-of-towner Angus Harley of Lost Maidens Police wasn’t on the scene. Temerity can’t solve the crime without him, but he’s distracting, and in more ways than one. Can this unconventional duo solve the most mysterious murder ever to blight Lost Maidens Loch before the killer strikes again?

A magical and unputdownable whodunnit, perfect for fans of Adele Abbott, Amanda M. Lee and Leighann Dobbs.

Alright, let’s be honest here. How many of you choose to read a book solely based off of the cover? No cheating by looking at the synopsis. Just the cover. Well, that’s how I was going into this book. Witch on the cover. Sold. I hadn’t even read a cozy mystery before, but I needed to read this one.

A Spell of Murder takes place in the quaint, small town of Lost Maidens Loch, which is located in the Scottish Highlands. Temerity Love runs her family shop, Love’s Curiosities Inc, which specializes in antiques. Temerity is gifted with the ability to know the exact origin and history of any object that she touches. This makes her expertise coveted amongst the community of antique experts. She lives with her sister Tilda, who also possesses supernatural abilities.

One day, the body of a local school teacher is discovered in the staff break room. When an antique mirror is also found near the body, the local law enforcement decide to call in Temerity to use her gifts to help solve the murder mystery. Unfortunately, the new constable, Angus Harley, is not quite sold on Temerity’s abilities, and the two of them must find a way to work things about before another cold body turns up.

This was such a fun and exciting read. Something that I didn’t appreciate about cozy mysteries, which is vastly different from most thrillers that I read, is that the tone of the book is much more light hearted even though there’s a mystery to be solved. There’s more time to see the characters in their natural element versus the adrenaline pumping that I’m used to. I think this author did a fantastic job of setting up the series, and I can’t wait to see what’s next.

Thank you to Bookouture and NetGalley to providing an eARC. This did not influence my review. All opinions are my own.

Get your copy of A Spell of Murder here.

Kennedy Kerr is the author of the Lost Maidens Loch witch-themed cozy mystery series. She is from a Scottish family and adores the magic and mystery of Scotland and all the Celtic lands: cairns, misty mountains, stone circles and misty lochs are her particular favourite things. She is the proud owner of a cuddly black cat called Twinkle, who evidently believes she is a princess.

Kennedy also loves cooking and baking all types of food, which is almost as much fun as eating it.

Author Links: Facebook | Twitter

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s