Book Review: Twice in a Blue Moon by Christina Lauren (eARC)

Twice in a Blue Moon

Author: Christina Lauren

Publication Date: 22 October 2019

Genre: Adult Fiction – Contemporary Romance

Pages: 368

Publisher: Gallery Books

Sam Brandis was Tate Jones’s first: Her first love. Her first everything. Including her first heartbreak.

During a whirlwind two-week vacation abroad, Sam and Tate fell for each other in only the way that first loves do: sharing all of their hopes, dreams, and deepest secrets along the way. Sam was the first, and only, person that Tate—the long-lost daughter of one of the world’s biggest film stars—ever revealed her identity to. So when it became clear her trust was misplaced, her world shattered for good.

Fourteen years later, Tate, now an up-and-coming actress, only thinks about her first love every once in a blue moon. When she steps onto the set of her first big break, he’s the last person she expects to see. Yet here Sam is, the same charming, confident man she knew, but even more alluring than she remembered. Forced to confront the man who betrayed her, Tate must ask herself if it’s possible to do the wrong thing for the right reason… and whether “once in a lifetime” can come around twice.

With Christina Lauren’s signature “beautifully written and remarkably compelling” (Sarah J. Maas, New York Times bestselling author) prose and perfect for fans of Emily Giffin and Jennifer Weiner, Twice in a Blue Moon is an unforgettable and moving novel of young love and second chances.

When I finished The Unhoneymooners by Christina Lauren, I honestly couldn’t wait to dive into another delicious novel by this dynamic duo. That being said, my expectations for Twice in a Blue Moon were really high….and you know what they say about high expectations.

The beginning of this story makes you think you’re reading a YA/NA novel. The story opens with 18 year old Tate vacationing in London with her grandmother. While out dining one day in London, they meet 21 year old Sam and his grandfather, Luther. In a span of a week and a half, Tate and Sam embark on a whirlwind romance, and Sam is Tate’s first. They quickly fall in love. Tate confides her deepest secret to Sam only for Sam to betray her.

Jump ahead 14 years, and now Tate is a famous actress who has moved on her with her life. Everything comes to a crashing halt when Tate has to face Sam after all these years. There’s still so much pent up hurt and anger, but after talking to Sam, she realizes that she may have judged him to harshly for his betrayal considering he had a good reason to do so. Can these to find a way to get bury the hatchet and give their love a second chance?

Okay, as I am sitting here writing this, I am actually getting more and more frustrated with how this book turned out because I wanted to love it so much! Tate and Sam’s instant love was not for me. I get that they were young, but they went from being complete strangers to bearing they’re secrets and lovers in the span of days. I get that it does happen, but I just couldn’t connect with them or that plot line. I definitely found myself rolling my eyes more often that I should’ve.

When we see Tate and Sam 14 years later, I became more invested in the story. While I wasn’t so keen on the pining after all those years, I really enjoyed watching the two of break through the mounds of assumptions they’ve built up and actually start communicating. I also enjoyed that Tate goes through a metamorphosis where she’s able to resolve her issues when it comes to love as well as her father.

Overall, this definitely didn’t read like a typical Christina Lauren book, which I was a bit disappointed by, but I will continue to read books by the authors in search of the next one that I love by them.

Thank you to Gallery Book and NetGalley for the eARC. This did not influence my review. All opinions are my own.

Have you read Twice in a Blue Moon? Is it on your TBR? Let’s discuss.

2 comments

  1. I felt exactly the same. Definitely went in with high expectations and it just didn’t have that “spark” that The Unhoneymooners did! Great review though!

    Like

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s