Blog Tour & Excerpt: The Accusation by Victoria Jenkins

Hi Everyone! I am so excited to be taking part in the blog tour of The Accusation by Victoria Jenkins, which is hosted by the amazing Bookouture team!

The Accusation

Author: Victoria Jenkins

Publication Date: 09 June 2020

Genre: Adult Fiction – Psychological Thriller

Publisher: Bookouture

They say she’s guilty. She says she’s not. Who do you believe?

‘Help me! Help me, please!’

When Jenna hears the cry in the park one night, she feels she has no choice but to run and help. Cradling the injured woman in her arms, the attacker nowhere to be seen, all Jenna wants is to keep her alive until the ambulance arrives and for the ordeal to be over.

But the nightmare begins when the victim wakes up…

Jenna’s relief turns to horror when the finger is pointed at her. There must be some mistake: she’s never seen the woman before in her life, and Jenna tried to save her life. Why would she accuse Jenna of a crime she didn’t commit?

As the case against Jenna grows, her world starts to fall apart. Her teenage daughter is keeping secrets and her husband is growing more distant every day. To save her family and clear her name, Jenna has to prove she didn’t do it. But someone knows something Jenna did do. And they want to make her pay…

The Accusation is an addictive psychological thriller that asks how far you would go for justice. Perfect for fans of He Said/She SaidThe Silent Patient and The Woman in the Window.

Excerpt

Prologue 

‘Tell us what happened.’ 

I sat up against the flat hospital pillow and tried not to focus on the throbbing inside my head. This was the worst kind of headache – one that stayed after sleep – and I feared that something far more sinister had been done to me than they were letting on, some damage the doctors had yet to realise the full severity of. I couldn’t allow myself to be injured. I was needed too much. 

Two pairs of eyes watched me expectantly, waiting for me to fill in the missing details of the previous evening’s events. I wanted more than anything to give them what they asked, but I just couldn’t. 

‘Where’s…’ I began, but the question was strangled on my tongue, lost to a single tear that slipped from my left eye and slid onto my cold cheek. 

‘She’s fine,’ the female reassured me. 

When I closed my eyes, I saw the tree the car had collided with; I heard the screech of brakes and the crunch of metal as the bonnet crumpled against the trunk of the oak, folding in on itself like an accordion. A rush of darkness flooded me, greens and browns muted by the night, and I remembered the last thought that crept from my mind as my eyes fell shut and consciousness escaped me: that just a split second could change everything, and that nothing was ever going to be the same again. 

‘Tell us what happened,’ the man said again. 

But I couldn’t. 

‘I’m sorry,’ I said, making eye contact now. ‘I don’t remember.’

Grab your copy of The Accusation below:

Victoria Jenkins lives with her husband and daughter in South Wales, where her series of crime novels featuring Detectives King and Lane is based. Her debut novel The Girls in the Water is an Amazon UK top 30 bestseller, and top 5 bestseller in the Amazon US chart.

Her first psychological thriller, The Divorce, was published in July 2019. The second, The Argument, was published December 10th 2019 and The Accusation publishes June 9th 2020.

Author Social Media Links:

Facebook:  https://www.facebook.com/victoriajenkinswriter/

Twitter:      @vicwritescrime

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s