Book Review & Blog Tour: The Next Widow by C.J. Lyons

Happy Tuesday everyone! Unfortunately, yesterday got away from me BUT, I am here to take part in the blog tour of The Next Widow by C.J. Lyons which is hosted by the amazing team over at Bookouture.

The Next Widow

Author: C.J. Lyons

Publisher: 28 July 2020

Genre: Adult Fiction – Crime Thriller

Pages: 375

Publisher: Bookouture

In the distance Leah heard sirens. She ignored them. Right now, her daughter needed her and Emily was just out of reach, curled up under the bed, her eyes closed, desperately shaking. Leah did the only thing any mother would do. She crawled through the blood to get to her daughter.

Dr Leah Wright returned to her childhood home in rural Pennsylvania with her husband to find peace and quiet, start afresh and raise her six-year-old daughter Emily. But when she gets home one dark winter night, clutching roses in her hand, she finds her daughter huddled under her bed and her husband’s blood all over the floor…

When Detective Luka Jericho is called to investigate, he’s shocked to learn that the killer left a witness behind – the victim’s young daughter. The scene is a painful reminder of his fiancé’s unsolved death, and he is desperate to find out what Emily saw that night. He knows that the killer could still be out there, waiting to strike again.

But growing up, Leah learned the hard way that the only person she could rely on was herself. And it’s not until she and Emily are attacked again that she realizes just how close the killer is. Can she trust Luka to keep her daughter safe?

Fans of Karin Slaughter, Kendra Elliot and Tess Gerritsen will devour this fast-paced and chilling new crime series from New York Times bestselling author CJ Lyons. You won’t be able to put this book down.

The Next Widow is the first in brand new series by C.J. Lyons, which features Dr. Leah Wright, an ER doctor who is out to save everyone. Well…that is until she returns home from a shift on Valentine’s day to find her husband viciously murdered and her blood drenched daughter hiding under her bed. Detective Luka Jericho is assigned to the case and is tasked with finding the killer before the body count starts to add up.

The story alternates between Leah’s and Lukas’ POVs, which I thought really enhanced the storyline since you could get into both of their heads. I think both Leah and Lukas were well-developed, and I found myself drawn to each of them. While I think that Leah can be a bit much with her god-like complex, it is completely understandable when you think about the horrors that she has to face in the ER.

As far as plot goes, this story is high intensity and really never lets up. There’s lots of twists and turns along the way, which I appreciated. I was able to guess the killer, BUT I still couldn’t work out the motive behind everything, so I was still fully engaged with the story.

Overall, I think this is a fantastic start to the series, and I can’t wait to see what else is next.

Thank you to Bookouture for my blog tour invite and providing a review copy through NetGalley. This did not influence my review. All opinions are my own.

Get your copy of The Next Widow below:

BUY LINKS:

As a pediatric ER doctor, New York Times and USA Today Bestseller CJ Lyons has lived the life she writes about in her cutting edge Thrillers with Heart.

CJ has been called a “master within the genre” (Pittsburgh Magazine) and her work has been praised as “breathtakingly fast-paced” and “riveting” (Publishers Weekly) with “characters with beating hearts and three dimensions” (Newsday).

Learn more about CJ’s Thrillers with Heart at www.CJLyons.net

Author Social Media Links:

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/cjlyons/

Twitter:  https://twitter.com/cjlyonswriter

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s