Book Review & Blog Tour: Hidden Lake by Ruhi Choudhary

Hi everyone! I am excited to be one of today’s stops for the blog tour of Hidden Lake by Ruhi Choudhary, which is hosted by the incredible Bookouture team!

Hidden Lake

Author: Ruhi Choudhary

Publication Date: 19 August 2020

Genre: Adult Fiction – Crime Mystery

Pages: 414

Publisher: Bookouture

When she was just twelve years old, Mackenzie Price came home to find her father bleeding to death on the kitchen floor. She will never forget that night, nor what her mother asked her to do…

Twenty years later, Detective ‘Mack’ Price is back in Lakemore, despite vowing never to return. Determined to atone for the sins of the past, she is unstoppable in her quest for justice.

When eighteen-year-old Abigail Correia goes missing, Mack is convinced that the case is linked to Erica Perez, who disappeared exactly one year before. Unlike Abby, Erica is the daughter of one of the town’s most powerful men, but still no trace of her has been found.

As Mack endeavours to find Abby and bring her back alive, she and her team unearth a shocking secret at the heart of this small town. But that is not the only secret that lurks beneath the surface, as Mack knows only too well…

The first book in the Detective Mack Price series, Hidden Lake is a haunting and utterly unputdownable crime thriller, perfect for fans of Lisa Regan, Angela Marsons and Karin Slaughter.

Talk about one heck of an opening scene. When Detective Mackenzie ‘Mack’ Price was 12 years old, she came home to find her father bleeding to death after being bludgeoned by her mother. Rather than call the police, her mother decides it’s best if they dispose of the body and never speak of it again. Years later, that secret still haunts Mack.

The present day timeline opens with the disappearance of Abigail Correia, who was friends with Erica Perez who disappeared one year prior. During the investigation, bones are discovered. The caveat? The bones are discovered near the place that Mack and her mother had buried her father all those years ago.

As Mack starts to piece together the evidence in these cases, it is clear that the small town of Lakemore is hiding secrets, and there are some that are willing to go to great lengths to keep those secrets hidden.

This is definitely a fantastic start to the Mackenzie Price series. I love Mack as a fierce female detective who refuses to back down when it comes to solving cases and getting justice. It is evident from early on that Mack is broken and has had a lot to overcome in her life, but that made her even more gritty and someone I loved to root for.

The plot is propulsive, which I think the short chapters really helps. You get just enough information each chapter to hook you but not the onslaught that makes you go back and reread.

Overall, this is a great debut, and I am intrigued to see how the series continues.

Thank you to Bookouture for the blog tour invite and providing a review copy. This did not influence my review. All opinions are my own.

Get your copy of Hidden Lake below:

Ruhi Choudhary discovered her passion for writing when she was seven years old and wrote her first Star Trek episode. Being a fan of the dark and twisted, she found her calling in crime thriller.

She likes to write stories that make you a little uncomfortable and characters that you struggle to make up your mind about but stay with you.

She lives in Toronto and spends her days training to be a scientist and wishing it rained more often!

Author Social Media Links:

Twitter:  https://twitter.com/RuhiSChoudhary

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s